Articles Comments

Sasquesahanough Lodge » Featured, News » Centurion Award

Centurion Award

centurionFor nearly 100 years, the Order of the Arrow has purposefully recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. Therefore, our organization’s centennial provides a unique opportunity to commemorate those among us who are exemplars of the “high ideals and purpose of the Order of the Arrow.” The Centurion Award aims to highlight “Hometown Heroes,” or Arrowmen who have meaningfully contributed to the forming, maturing and ongoing operational excellence of their local council’s lodge, and who, in doing so, inspired others to follow in their footsteps.

This award is a one-time recognition associated with the centennial anniversary of the OA that is bestowed by the National Order of the Arrow Committee. It is modeled after a similar program in the BSA’s 100th anniversary celebration, the 2010 National Hall of Leadership. Accordingly, this recognition is an opportunity to highlight lodge development over the last century and the many individuals, both youth and adult, who were instrumental to this success. These honorees will serve as exemplars of leadership, modeling to others a commitment to cheerful service as the Order of the Arrow enters its second century.  More information about the award can be found at

Sasquesahanough Lodge was allowed to award 13 Centurion Awards, based on the size of our membership. Over the next few weeks we will announce the recipients on the Lodge website. The three recipients attending NOAC in August will receive their awards at that time. The remaining recipients will receive their awards at an appropriate event after NOAC.

  1. Justin Schneider
  2. Scott Dunlap
  3. Wesley Heyser
  4. Don Cunningham
  5. Ken Shields
  6. Joe Marsicano
  7. Brian Kline
  8. Bud March
  9. Don Fry
  10. Jim Kroh
  11. Ed Sellers
  12. Don Stevens
  13. Jim Hoover

Written by

Filed under: Featured, News

3 Responses to "Centurion Award"

  1. […] the 13 Centurions the Lodge selected, seven are for youth service and 6 are for adult service. We’ll start with […]

  2. […] next Centurion recipient is Scott Dunlap, for his service as a member of the Lodge Executive Committee and a […]

  3. […] next Centurion recipient is Wesley Heyser, for his service as an officer from 2000 to 2005. Wesley served as […]

Leave a Reply to Centurion Award – Justin | Sasquesahanough Lodge Cancel reply